Why Can’t Everyone Be Nice?

People. I don’t know if I have very much to say right now, but if you could just imagine me. My eyes closed, arms straight down, hands ever so slightly raised at a ninety-degree angle, heaving a Big Long Sigh.

I had to capitalize that. Big Long Sigh is my usual go-to coping mechanism when my day gets frustrating. Maybe I should stomp my foot for good measure.

Seriously. Why can’t everyone be nice? I don’t understand. Is it physically impossible for you to say a kind word or be helpful in any way?

I’m trying to figure out the psychology behind a nasty person.

Do you think the world owes you something? Has life been unfair? Has your heart been broken and you’ve been cynical ever since, so you make the world pay? Have you got a terrible, unseen disease that causes you excruciating pain, so you’re physically unable to smile? Do you hate everyone? Why? When did you become a snob? A jerk? A mean, old grump? A cynic?

When did you stop caring if you hurt others’ feelings? Did you ever care? I’m sure you care if your feelings are hurt.

Because the world owes you. We all need to bend over backwards to accommodate the chip on your shoulder.

I know why people aren’t nice. There are seriously so many reasons. But none of them are good enough.

When it comes down to it, if you lack the ability to have simple KINDNESS, you lack one of the most important qualities you could ever hope to achieve in your lifetime.

You could be very successful in your business and make millions. No one could ever fault your business know-how. And you could argue that you got to the top because you were ruthless and people were afraid of you. But monetary gain will be ALL. You will miss out on the richest things in life. The things that do not come with a price tag.

It’s the best feeling in the world to know that your smile or your kindness made someone’s day. Here are some ways to be nice:

Smile.

Say “Thank you!”

Say something encouraging when you see someone struggling.

Practice empathy.

Don’t complain.

Be patient.

Don’t be self-centered. Remember that you’re not the only one that needs things.

Pray when you’re upset.

Believe in God and His ability to help you, in any circumstance you are in.

Determine to have renewed hope for your future. Whatever has happened to you is in the past. Clean slate.

Now, I want to say that I haven’t always been nice. I have to be honest. As an opinionated little personage, I’ve definitely had my moments when I’ve disregarded others’ feelings in favor of being right. As if that’s all that matters.

It most assuredly ISN’T all that matters.

Grumpy
Don’t be like Grumpy. Come on!

Kindness. That’s what matters.

 

 

 

One thought on “Why Can’t Everyone Be Nice?

Leave a Reply

