Hold on Hope

I feel too raw right now. Disillusioned. Spent. Apprehensive about the future. Hopeless. Emotions are awesome, aren’t they.

I want to feel wonderful. Full of hope and life. I know I will again. But I want to always be able to see the silver lining, and at this point, I can’t.

I love Mumford & Sons. Their lyrics and music are the language of my very soul. What’s more, I can imagine them sitting on their couch right next to my reflective lamp and me, writing songs and strumming their guitars and laughing at themselves.

“I will hold on hope…” that simple lyric calls to me. Here’s the whole song, which is really a poem full of deep meaning when you really think about it.

“The Cave”

It’s empty in the valley of your heart
The sun, it rises slowly as you walk
Away from all the fears
And all the faults you’ve left behind

The harvest left no food for you to eat
You cannibal, you meat-eater, you see
But I have seen the same
I know the shame in your defeat

But I will hold on hope
And I won’t let you choke
On the noose around your neck

And I’ll find strength in pain
And I will change my ways
I’ll know my name as it’s called again

‘Cause I have other things to fill my time
You take what is yours and I’ll take mine
Now let me at the truth
Which will refresh my broken mind

So tie me to a post and block my ears
I can see widows and orphans through my tears
I know my call despite my faults
And despite my growing fears

But I will hold on hope
And I won’t let you choke
On the noose around your neck

And I’ll find strength in pain
And I will change my ways
I’ll know my name as it’s called again

So come out of your cave walking on your hands
And see the world hanging upside down
You can understand dependence
When you know the maker’s land

So make your siren’s call
And sing all you wantMumford and Sons
I will not hear what you have to say

‘Cause I need freedom now
And I need to know how
To live my life as it’s meant to be

And I will hold on hope
And I won’t let you choke
On the noose around your neck

And I’ll find strength in pain
And I will change my ways
I’ll know my name as it’s called again

 

Watch the video here. No, for real, WATCH IT.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=REo7VnlenOA

 

Being at the end of all solutions. Of all possibilities. Feeling entirely overwhelmed…as if everything is futile and life will never be easy. In the song, that’s where he is. Yet he rises above. He says “I WILL HOLD ON HOPE” and “I’LL FIND STRENGTH IN PAIN”.

Yes. Yes. Yes!!

I’ll know my name as it’s called again.

You know what Joanna means? “God is gracious.”

God is gracious, no matter what circumstances we are in. When we feel like the weight of the world is crushing us, like there’s truly no hope and we were such fools to ever believe there was…He is there, and He is gracious. He will make a way.

Because He’s God

And Mumford & Sons rocks.

And someday I will not only see them LIVE, but I’ll somehow get to meet them and play music with them and tour and see the world and life will be over-the-top amazing!

In the meantime I’ll settle for listening to their songs over and over while I wrinkle my face into emotional expressions and shed a few real tears as I feel the lyrics come from deep in my heart…and I imagine being there, singing with them. Because they’re just like me…they feel their music and it’s tangible. It’s beautiful. The epitome of heart-felt.

I suppose it’s what one would call “Emo”. Well, I’m not embarrassed to say I love me some good Emo. It’s the best! I mean, who can listen to Coldplay or Keane or Mumford & Sons or any number of awesome British bands (because the only good ones come from over there, for some reason), and not feel a bit Emo?

Okay, so this was a rambly post. My apologies. I will stay in line next time and I keep meaning to write about something important. Current events, current events…well, I haven’t been keeping up with them lately. Don’t seem to care much for bad news, I’d rather not hear about it…but I’ll eventually write about something important. Stay tuned. 🙂

Leave a comment